North Khorasan Province is a province located in northeastern Iran.Bojnord is the centre of the province. In 2014 it was placed in Region

Other counties are Shirvan, Esfarayen, Maneh and Samalqan, Jajarm, Faroj and Garmeh.

North Khorasan is one of the three provinces that were created after the division of Khorasan in 2004.

Northern Khorasan province is one of the most diverse territories in Iran today, largely reflecting the ethnic makeup of Iran. Kurdish speakers make up 46.1%, forming the relative majority (plurality) of the population. The next largest group is Persian speakers which makeup 27.8% of the population, Khorasani Turks makeup 20.6% and Turkmens make up about 3.3% and other Iranians make up 2.2% of the population. There used to be a sizeable population of Lurs who used to inhabit this province, however most returned to their native area in western Iran as there are no signs of them in the province today.

Previously there used to be a sizeable community of Arabs who settled in the area during the Arab invasion of Iran, however by 1292/1875 they had intermarried so extensively with Persians and Turks that they were undistinguishable in feature and language, having largely abandoned the Arab language and culture in favour of the local one.




Central office

Unit 3, No. 26, Kavoosi Alley, Vazirpoor St., Madar Sq., Mirdamad Blv., Tehran, Iran

+98 21 22261002-03
+98 21 22261375-76
+98 912 159 1013
+34 628 010 644

+98 21 22272199